Skip to main content Accessibility Help
Van Winkle Special Reserve 12 Year*Packaging may vary

Van Winkle Special Reserve 12 Year

Bourbon /45.2% ABV / Kentucky, United States




Product Details

Category
Bourbon
Region
Kentucky, United States
ABV
45.2%
Years Aged
12

Product Description

“A perfect combination of age and proof. The 12 years of aging and medium proof of 90.4 seem to be just right in creating a very pleasant drink of whiskey. This fine bourbon can compete with any excellent cognac as an after-dinner drink.” -Paul Pacult Tasting Notes: Highlighted by light aromas of dried mango, cocoa, fruit and spiced peach. Flavors of honey, oak and tobacco dance on the pallet. The finish is balanced and dry, with a lingering tingle.

View all products by Old Rip Van WinkleCalifornia Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 WARNING

Community Reviews

2.6(2 Reviews)
5
(2)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Newest
  • SimonDec 31 2021

    Don’t overpay. This is not that great.

  • AnthonyMay 20 2021

    Please don't pay these ridiculous prices for these bottles. I find it strange that stores can dream up any price for bottles and sell it on this app. Terrible.

FAQs

Bourbon is a corn-based, aged spirit that, while legally can be produced anywhere in the U.S., is Kentucky’s signature liquor; in fact, Kentucky distilleries make 95% of the world’s bourbon and the Bluegrass State hosts over a million visitors annually for bourbon tasting tourism.
Because of the liquor’s aging process variation, bourbon’s colors range from light amber to dark caramel and each bottle must contain at least 40% ABV. Bourbon can only be called bourbon if it’s aged in an oak barrel; barrels must be new and are pre-charred to help the liquid extract as much flavor as possible from the wood.
Much like how a square is a rectangle, but a rectangle is not a square, bourbon is a whiskey — but because of the stricter standards set for bourbon distillers, most whiskies are not considered bourbons.
While both whiskey and bourbon are made from the same base ingredients (a predominantly corn mash, yeast and water), a spirit can only be called bourbon if it’s crafted in the United States, surpasses a minimum 40% ABV and is aged in new, charred, white oak barrels. Bourbons are generally on the younger side of the whiskey family (compared to older whiskies like scotch) and thus deliver a sweeter profile.
Bourbon’s ingredient list is short and sweet (literally): corn, other grains, water and yeast. Barley, wheat and rye grains are often featured in the mash composition alongside the liquor’s signature corn base, but even so, the FDA considers straight bourbon as a gluten-free product that is safe for those with Celiac Disease or for individuals who suffer from other forms of gluten intolerance.
Raise a glass to science: While rye, barley and wheat all contain the gluten protein, the actual gluten is removed during the bourbon’s distillation process, in which the gluten molecules are separated from the actual distillate used to make the final product.