Skip to main content Accessibility Help
TX Straight Bourbon*Packaging may vary

TX Straight Bourbon

Bourbon /45% ABV / Texas, United States




Product Details

Category
Bourbon
Region
Texas, United States
ABV
45%

Product Description

TX Bourbon is made in Fort Worth from #2 yellow dent Texas corn, Texas soft red winter wheat, and a strain of wild yeast captured from a Texas pecan, called the “Brazos” strain. After aging for more than four years in charred oak barrels, TX Bourbon is smooth and sweetly spicy with caramel and dark fruit notes.

View all products by Firestone & RobertsonCalifornia Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 WARNING

Community Reviews

4.8(3 Reviews)
5
(24)
4
(1)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Newest
  • Dowell T.
    Verified Buyer
    May 1 2021
    Verified Buyer

    Just discovered this brand and absolutely love it.

  • Jeanne
    Verified Buyer
    Mar 27 2021
    Verified Buyer

    The drink was delicious. The lid broke upon opening.

  • Elizabeth
    Verified Buyer
    Dec 22 2020
    Verified Buyer

    It’s for a gift

FAQs

Bourbon is a corn-based, aged spirit that, while legally can be produced anywhere in the U.S., is Kentucky’s signature liquor; in fact, Kentucky distilleries make 95% of the world’s bourbon and the Bluegrass State hosts over a million visitors annually for bourbon tasting tourism.
Because of the liquor’s aging process variation, bourbon’s colors range from light amber to dark caramel and each bottle must contain at least 40% ABV. Bourbon can only be called bourbon if it’s aged in an oak barrel; barrels must be new and are pre-charred to help the liquid extract as much flavor as possible from the wood.
Much like how a square is a rectangle, but a rectangle is not a square, bourbon is a whiskey — but because of the stricter standards set for bourbon distillers, most whiskies are not considered bourbons.
While both whiskey and bourbon are made from the same base ingredients (a predominantly corn mash, yeast and water), a spirit can only be called bourbon if it’s crafted in the United States, surpasses a minimum 40% ABV and is aged in new, charred, white oak barrels. Bourbons are generally on the younger side of the whiskey family (compared to older whiskies like scotch) and thus deliver a sweeter profile.
Bourbon’s ingredient list is short and sweet (literally): corn, other grains, water and yeast. Barley, wheat and rye grains are often featured in the mash composition alongside the liquor’s signature corn base, but even so, the FDA considers straight bourbon as a gluten-free product that is safe for those with Celiac Disease or for individuals who suffer from other forms of gluten intolerance.
Raise a glass to science: While rye, barley and wheat all contain the gluten protein, the actual gluten is removed during the bourbon’s distillation process, in which the gluten molecules are separated from the actual distillate used to make the final product.