Skip to main content Accessibility Help
KOVAL Bourbon Whiskey*Packaging may vary

KOVAL Bourbon Whiskey

Bourbon /47% ABV / Illinois, United States

Product Details

Illinois, United States
Tasting Notes
Caramel, Dry, Pepper, Tobacco, Vanilla, Woody
Gluten-Free, Kosher, Organic
Brand Ownership
Black-owned, Woman-owned

Product Description

With a mash bill of 51% corn and 49% millet, KOVAL Bourbon offers a drinking experience that is balanced, approachable, and unparalleled. The unusual grain combination provides notes of mango chutney and vanilla on the palate, with a peppery caramel finish. “A welcome change of pace.” - Cool Material “When you order a shot of KOVAL single-barrel, organic bourbon whiskey... it’s as much a statement as a request. It’s a drink, yes, but also an experience. It gives you something to talk about.” - Chicago Tribune 94 Proof | Single Barrel | Organic | Kosher BOURBON Whiskey 750ml GOLD MEDAL BEST BOURBON WHISKEY International Whisky Competition

View all products by KovalCalifornia Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 WARNING

Community Reviews

4.7(1 Reviews)
  • DustyJan 18 2021

    Very distinct flavor. Warming and bright, clean taste. Makes a great Old Fashioned, particularly with a little maple syrup.


Bourbon is a corn-based, aged spirit that, while legally can be produced anywhere in the U.S., is Kentucky’s signature liquor; in fact, Kentucky distilleries make 95% of the world’s bourbon and the Bluegrass State hosts over a million visitors annually for bourbon tasting tourism.
Because of the liquor’s aging process variation, bourbon’s colors range from light amber to dark caramel and each bottle must contain at least 40% ABV. Bourbon can only be called bourbon if it’s aged in an oak barrel; barrels must be new and are pre-charred to help the liquid extract as much flavor as possible from the wood.
Much like how a square is a rectangle, but a rectangle is not a square, bourbon is a whiskey — but because of the stricter standards set for bourbon distillers, most whiskies are not considered bourbons.
While both whiskey and bourbon are made from the same base ingredients (a predominantly corn mash, yeast and water), a spirit can only be called bourbon if it’s crafted in the United States, surpasses a minimum 40% ABV and is aged in new, charred, white oak barrels. Bourbons are generally on the younger side of the whiskey family (compared to older whiskies like scotch) and thus deliver a sweeter profile.
Bourbon’s ingredient list is short and sweet (literally): corn, other grains, water and yeast. Barley, wheat and rye grains are often featured in the mash composition alongside the liquor’s signature corn base, but even so, the FDA considers straight bourbon as a gluten-free product that is safe for those with Celiac Disease or for individuals who suffer from other forms of gluten intolerance.
Raise a glass to science: While rye, barley and wheat all contain the gluten protein, the actual gluten is removed during the bourbon’s distillation process, in which the gluten molecules are separated from the actual distillate used to make the final product.