Skip to main content Accessibility Help
Black Dirt Bourbon*Packaging may vary

Black Dirt Bourbon

Bourbon /45% ABV / New York, United States




Product Details

Category
Bourbon
Region
New York, United States
ABV
45%

Product Description

Distilled from: 80% Black Dirt grown corn, 12% Malted Barley and 8% Rye, Black Dirt® Bourbon is aged a minimum of 4 years in new charred American oak barrels. The unique flavor showcases corn, toffee and chocolate notes with a light oak tannin finish. (45% ABV – 90 proof). It is made by its seasoned, award-winning co-founders. • Winner: DOUBLE GOLD MEDAL, San Francisco World Spirits Competition 2018.

View all products by Black DirtCalifornia Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 WARNING

Community Reviews

5(1 Reviews)
5
(2)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Newest
  • Evan
    Verified Buyer
    Apr 11 2020
    Verified Buyer

    During the quarantine, I was going to stick with Whiskey Maker’s however I figured it’ll be better to support a local business. I am glad I supported Black Dirt. I enjoyed the bold and smooth taste of this bourbon. This is definitely one brand you’ll order again.

FAQs

Bourbon is a corn-based, aged spirit that, while legally can be produced anywhere in the U.S., is Kentucky’s signature liquor; in fact, Kentucky distilleries make 95% of the world’s bourbon and the Bluegrass State hosts over a million visitors annually for bourbon tasting tourism.
Because of the liquor’s aging process variation, bourbon’s colors range from light amber to dark caramel and each bottle must contain at least 40% ABV. Bourbon can only be called bourbon if it’s aged in an oak barrel; barrels must be new and are pre-charred to help the liquid extract as much flavor as possible from the wood.
Much like how a square is a rectangle, but a rectangle is not a square, bourbon is a whiskey — but because of the stricter standards set for bourbon distillers, most whiskies are not considered bourbons.
While both whiskey and bourbon are made from the same base ingredients (a predominantly corn mash, yeast and water), a spirit can only be called bourbon if it’s crafted in the United States, surpasses a minimum 40% ABV and is aged in new, charred, white oak barrels. Bourbons are generally on the younger side of the whiskey family (compared to older whiskies like scotch) and thus deliver a sweeter profile.
Bourbon’s ingredient list is short and sweet (literally): corn, other grains, water and yeast. Barley, wheat and rye grains are often featured in the mash composition alongside the liquor’s signature corn base, but even so, the FDA considers straight bourbon as a gluten-free product that is safe for those with Celiac Disease or for individuals who suffer from other forms of gluten intolerance.
Raise a glass to science: While rye, barley and wheat all contain the gluten protein, the actual gluten is removed during the bourbon’s distillation process, in which the gluten molecules are separated from the actual distillate used to make the final product.