Skip to main content Accessibility Help
Ancient Age Bourbon*Packaging may vary

Ancient Age Bourbon

Bourbon /40% ABV / Kentucky, United States

Enter a delivery address


Product details

Category
Bourbon
Region
Kentucky, United States
ABV
40%

Product description

Since 1946 this bourbon has been held in high regard. It is distilled from corn, rye and barley malt, it's smooth and simple, yet robust in its own way. There is much to love about this bourbon that has withstood the test of time.

View all products by Ancient AgeCalifornia Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 WARNING

Community reviews

4.53 Reviews
5
(13)
4
(1)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Newest
  • David Haake.
    Verified Buyer
    Verified Buyer

    This is really nice bourbon for the price.

  • Jesse
    Verified Buyer
    Verified Buyer

    Ghetto fab cheap whiskey. No fuss, no muss.

  • Jack
    Verified Buyer
    Verified Buyer

    I like ancient age bourbon and l have been drinking it for many years. It cost less than some other brands and can be a welcome change at times. I do prefer the 10 year ancient age better but they did not carry it but this will work just fine

FAQs

Bourbon is a corn-based, aged spirit that, while legally can be produced anywhere in the U.S., is Kentucky’s signature liquor; in fact, Kentucky distilleries make 95% of the world’s bourbon and the Bluegrass State hosts over a million visitors annually for bourbon tasting tourism.
Because of the liquor’s aging process variation, bourbon’s colors range from light amber to dark caramel and each bottle must contain at least 40% ABV. Bourbon can only be called bourbon if it’s aged in an oak barrel; barrels must be new and are pre-charred to help the liquid extract as much flavor as possible from the wood.
Much like how a square is a rectangle, but a rectangle is not a square, bourbon is a whiskey — but because of the stricter standards set for bourbon distillers, most whiskies are not considered bourbons.
While both whiskey and bourbon are made from the same base ingredients (a predominantly corn mash, yeast and water), a spirit can only be called bourbon if it’s crafted in the United States, surpasses a minimum 40% ABV and is aged in new, charred, white oak barrels. Bourbons are generally on the younger side of the whiskey family (compared to older whiskies like scotch) and thus deliver a sweeter profile.
Bourbon’s ingredient list is short and sweet (literally): corn, other grains, water and yeast. Barley, wheat and rye grains are often featured in the mash composition alongside the liquor’s signature corn base, but even so, the FDA considers straight bourbon as a gluten-free product that is safe for those with Celiac Disease or for individuals who suffer from other forms of gluten intolerance.
Raise a glass to science: While rye, barley and wheat all contain the gluten protein, the actual gluten is removed during the bourbon’s distillation process, in which the gluten molecules are separated from the actual distillate used to make the final product.
Enter a delivery address